Bergen announces changes to Conservative Shadow Cabinet

February 23, 2022

Ottawa, ON – Yesterday, the Honourable Candice Bergen, Leader of the Official Opposition, made the following statement to announce changes to the Conservative Shadow Cabinet:

“During this unprecedented time in our nation’s history, Conservatives are focused on working to bring unity, calm and wholeness back to our country.   

“As we find ways to do that and move toward a post-COVID-19 era, we know there will be huge economic and social challenges continuing to face Canada. 

“We need to align our team to tackle these changes, and constructively put forward concrete solutions. We will not only hold the Liberals to account – we want to help provide solutions.

“This new team is ready to do just that. 

“Conservatives will be looking to proactively work with various sectors that affect our economy, and our future.  Blockchain technologies, crypto assets and financial decentralization are here to stay, and they need our attention.  That’s why in addition to Ben Lobb (Huron – Bruce) continuing as Shadow Minister for Digital Government, I’m pleased to appoint him with new responsibilities as my Special Advisor on Blockchain Technologies and Crypto Assets.

“In addition, I believe it’s important for Conservatives to have a voice and presence on the National Security and Intelligence Committee of Parliamentarians (NSICOP) during these historic times. That’s why I will be writing to the Prime Minister and asking him to appoint Michelle Rempel Garner (Calgary Nose Hill) and Rob Morrison (Kootenay – Columbia) to the committee.

“We will continue to work towards substantial reforms at NSICOP to make it fully accountable to Parliament. We will also continue demanding answers and documents related to the national microbiology lab in Winnipeg. In the meanwhile, Michelle and Rob will be strong additions to the NSICOP committee.

“Finally, I am pleased to share that Warren Steinley (Regina – Lewvan) will join the Conservative Leadership Team in the role of Caucus-Party Liaison.

“Tim Uppal (Edmonton Mill Woods) will continue on the Leadership Team as Chair of Outreach.

“I want to thank Eric Duncan for the work that he has done on the Leadership Team, and for the great work he will continue to do both in the House and to strengthen our Conservative movement.”


Changes to the Conservative Shadow Cabinet are as follows:

  • Hon. Ed Fast (Abbotsford) – Shadow Minister for Finance
  • Dan Albas (Central Okanagan—Similkameen—Nicola) – Associate Shadow Minister of Finance and Housing Inflation
  • Gérard Deltell (Louis-Saint-Laurent) – Shadow Minister for Innovation, Science and Industry
  • Michael Barrett (Leeds—Grenville—Thousand Islands and Rideau Lakes) – Shadow Minister for Health
  • Greg McLean (Calgary Centre) – Shadow Minister for Natural Resources
  • Marilyn Gladu (Sarnia—Lambton) – Associate Shadow Minister for International Trade and Supply Chains
  • Ben Lobb (Huron – Bruce) – Shadow Minister for Digital Government and Special Advisor on Blockchain Technologies and Crypto Assets
  • Kyle Seeback (Dufferin—Caledon) – Shadow Minister for Environment and Climate Change
  • James Bezan (Selkirk—Interlake—Eastman) – Shadow Minister for Ethics
  • Joel Godin (Portneuf—Jacques-Cartier) – Shadow Minister for Official Languages
  • Shannon Stubbs (Lakeland) – Shadow Minister for Rural Economic Development and Rural Broadband